COMMITTEE ON COURT ADMINISTRATION AND CASE MANAGEMENT OF THE JUDICIAL CONFERENCE OF THE UNITED STATES WASHINGTON, D.C. 20544

<u>Members</u>

John D. Bates
Paul D. Borman
Aida M. Delgado-Colon
Julio M. Fuentes
James B. Haines, Jr.
Robert J. Johnston
Benson Everett Legg
Ronald B. Leighton
Steven D. Merryday
Julie A. Robinson
Amy J. St. Eve
Sonia Sotomayor
T. John Ward

Chair
John R. Tunheim
U.S. District Court
13E United States Courthouse
300 South Fourth Street
Minneapolis, MN 55415
(612) 664-5080

Staff
Abel Mattos
Chief
Court Administration Policy Staff
Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts
One Columbus Circle, N.E.
Washington, DC 20544
(202) 502-1560

July 28, 2008

Mr. Alan D. Sugarman Hyperlaw, Inc. 17 W. 70th Street New York, NY 10023

Dear Mr. Sugarman:

At your request, Director Duff has forwarded your letters regarding electronic access to court opinions to me, in my role as Chair of the Judicial Conference's Committee on Court Administration and Case Management (CACM). As you may be aware, this Committee, in conjunction with the Administrative Office and its Electronic Public Access Working Group, has spent a great deal of time and effort in developing an electronic case files system that provides remote public access and that protects confidential or sensitive information such as Social Security numbers and the names of minor children. We are justifiably proud of our efforts and believe the Judiciary to be a leader in providing electronic public access.

The CACM Committee meets again in December of this year and will consider your letters at that time. Our meetings are limited to Committee members only, but I would be happy to share with the Committee any additional information that you would

Mr. Alan D. Sugarman Page 2

like to provide. If possible, please send it by September 24, 2008, to the Committee staff listed above so that it may be shared with the Electronic Public Access Working Group, which meets in October.

Sincerely,

John R. Tunheim

cc: Honorable Joseph I. Lieberman

Honorable Susan M. Collins

Mr. James C. Duff

F17